Ubuntu Developer Summit Remote Participation Day Five

Today, I helped out in the Community Roundtable. Here we talked about a big topic that has been on my mind as of late. Making people feel appreciated for their efforts. I see that the tireless efforts of our Ubuntu community are efforts worthy of a thanks. There are many ways that we can do this task. Maybe a more widely known “thank a fellow community member day” or send more Christmas cards to the workers, maybe a personal email. I have some ideas of  what to do and will be going about them this week.

 

One such idea is to use my feed here to the Planet to make known users who are working in the background. People who do work that is not as fun, but needs to be done. Without them, where would be no Ubuntu. Though I, and probably people reading this do some gritty Ubuntu work on a regular basis, it is essential that everyone that does such work gets known and personally thanked for it. I do not and I will not see someone leave our community because he or she was not thanked for his or her efforts when I would have had an opportunity to personally thank him for making my operating system better. There is no real excuse for not saying thank you.

I want to see what others reading this have. What ways would you like to see people show you appreciation for your efforts, or in other non Ubuntu parts of your life, what ways of saying thanks have worked.

4 thoughts on “Ubuntu Developer Summit Remote Participation Day Five

  1. Pingback: Ubuntu Developer Summit Remote Participation Day Five … | Linux Supersaniya

  2. I feel that we’re barking up the wrong tree here. If we have to go out of our way to tell people to “Thank the community voulunteers,” that’s a sign that the way things are set up right now, they feel thankless and insignificant. Treating the symptoms won’t change that things are still set up that way.

    Instead, I think we should try to imagine what a community where that isn’t necessary would look like, then figure out how we can make ours like that. I personally sort of like Launchpad’s karma, and Jono’s idea about Ubuntu “achievements,” although I’m not sure if that can serve everyone.

Leave a Reply

